• Rest in Peace Maeve Binchy I feel like I’ve lost an old friend. I was going through my news reader today and saw the Irish Times report of the passing of Maeve Binchy, author of Circle of Friends, Light a Penny Candle and so many other titles. I am at work so I can’t even allow myself a cry. To […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 31, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews Redshirts Redshirts Author: John Scalzi Publisher: Tom Dougherty Associates/Tor Books ISBN-10: 0-7653-1699-4 ISBN-13: 978-07653-1699-8 What used to be called “sacrificial lambs” or “cannon fodder” became institutionalized in s-f as the “redshirt” in the original Star Trek TV series of 1966-69. The Star Trek uniforms consisted of several colors. As the TV Tropes website puts it of […] Fred Patten No responses July 30, 2012
  • Shannon Muir Reviews Earth Unaware Earth Unaware Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston Publisher: Tor (a division of Macmillian) ISBN-10: 0765329042 ISBN-13: 978-0765329042 ASIN: B007IM0IIW   The backstory behind the classic, popular ENDER’S GAME series by Orson Scott Card is brought to life in this series of novels describing the two Formic Wars that make up the history leading up […] ShMuir No responses July 29, 2012
  • Children’s Books Roundup for 7/28/2012 The grandkids and I have been doing a lot of reading this summer and we have some recommendations for you from our Random House Children’s Books stack. We’re great fans of RHCB because of the great writing, print quality and storytelling. Some of them are new books from favorite authors and others are completely new […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 28, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews Judgment at Proteus Judgement at Proteus Author: Timothy Zahn Publisher: Tom Dougherty Associates/Tor Books ISBN-10: 0-7653-2213-7 ISBN-13: 978-07653-2213-5 “The climactic novel of the star-spanning Quadrail space opera!” (blurb) In the first four Quadrail novels (Night Train to Rigel, 2005; The Third Lynx, 2007; Odd Girl Out, 2008, and The Domino Pattern, 2010), galaxy-traveler-by-alien-superscientific-railroad hero Frank Compton (conveniently a […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 24, 2012
  • Rest in Peace Margaret Mahy I awoke to the sad news that Children’s book author, the great Margaret Mahy passed away at age 76 after a brief illness.  Mahy wrote over 200 books and poems, and is considered to be one of New Zealand’s finest and most acclaimed writers.  Her books have been translated into 15 languages and she has […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 23, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews: A Confusion of Princes A Confusion of Princes Author: Garth Nix Publisher: HarperCollins/Harper ISBN-10: 0-06-009694-2 ISBN-13: 978-0-06-009694-6 This is Young Adult interstellar science-fiction, in the tradition of Robert A. Heinlein and Andre Norton, two classic YA s-f authors to whom this book is dedicated. I grew up devouring the YA s-f of Heinlein and Norton in my teens. How […] Fred Patten No responses July 18, 2012
  • ¡Ban This! The BSP Anthology of Xicana/o Literature I have the great honor to be one of the authors in a new anthology of works by Chicano writers.  It is incredible to be published and have my story in a book with some really amazing authors and people I have long admired.  I don’t even have words for how thrilled I am to […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 17, 2012
  • RIP Donald J. Sobol Did you grow up reading Encyclopedia Brown books?  I did.  I was in love with those books and always learned so much.  I was deeply saddened today when I heard the news that Donald J. Sobol, the author of those wonderful books of my childhood, had passed away on Wednesday at age 87.  He will […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 16, 2012
  • “PROFESSIONAL TO PROFESSIONAL” – INTERVIEW WITH DR. TRAVIS LANGLEY   During Comic-Con, I had the opportunity to meet and chat with Dr. Travis Langley, author of Batman and Psychology. I started out asking Dr. Langley about the panel he moderated Thursday at Comic-Con. “Well, originally it was going to be focused more on Batman, but because we wound up with Lee Meriweather joining us I […] ShMuir One response July 16, 2012
  • “PROFESSIONAL TO PROFESSIONAL” – A TRIBUTE TO RAY BRADBURY Saturday night at Comic-Con International: San Diego, at 6pm in the Hilton Indigo Ballroom, fans gathered for a tribute to Ray Bradbury, an author who made his mark not just in science fiction but in mainstream fiction. Co-hosted by Sam Weller (Ray Bradbury’s personal biographer of the past decade) and animation writer and producer (among […] ShMuir No responses July 16, 2012
  • “PROFESSIONAL TO PROFESSIONAL” – ISTOCK FEAST PARTNERS WITH COMIC FANS Friday at Comic-Con International: San Diego, I spent time at the Wired Cafe at the Omni Hotel as guests of iStock Photo, to chat with them about their latest project involving comics and the power of crowdsourcing. Sona from iStock Feast explained what the project was all about. “iStock launched a creative site called Feast […] ShMuir No responses July 15, 2012