• Fred Patten Reviews Her Instruments The “Her Instruments” trilogy Earth rise Author:  M. C. A. Hogarth Publisher:  Studio MCAH ISBN-10:  1-4849-9651-8 ISBN-13:  978-1-4849-9651-5 Rose Point Author:  M. C. A. Hogarth Publisher:  Studio MCAH ISBN-10:  1-4927-4787-4 ISBN-13:  978-1-4927-4787-1 Laisrathera Author:  M. C. A. Hogarth Publisher:  Studio MCAH ISBN-10:  1-4993-4838-X ISBN-13:  978-1-4993-4838-5 Disclosure: A free copy of this book was furnished by […] Fred Patten No responses September 21, 2014
  • Fred Patten Reviews Evolutionary Action Evolutionary Action Author: Phil Geusz Publisher:  FurPlanet Publications ISBN-10:  1-6145-0150-5 ISBN-13:  978-1-6145-0150-3 Disclosure: A free copy of this book was furnished by the publisher for review, but providing a copy did not guarantee a review. This information is provided per the regulations of the Federal Trade Commission. This unusual science fiction novel, published in September […] Fred Patten No responses August 13, 2014
  • Fred Patten Reviews War Over Lemuria & The Man from Mars: Ray Palmer’s Amazing Pulp Journey War over Lemuria: Richard Shaver, Ray Palmer and the Strangest Chapter of 1940s Science Fiction, by Richard Toronto.  Illustrated.   Jefferson, NC, McFarland & Co., April 2013, trade paperback $45.00 (vi + 256 pages), Kindle $16.19. Now It Can Be Told!? When I was a teenager in the 1950s, I read a lot of science […] Fred Patten No responses September 21, 2013
  • Phantasmagoria; Collected Essays on the Nature of Fantasy and Horror Literature Phantasmagoria; Collected Essays on the Nature of Fantasy and Horror Literature Author Roger C. Schlobin Publisher: CreateSpace ISBN-10: 1-4819-4608-0 ISBN-13: 978-1-4819-4608-7 Dr. Roger C. Schlobin is a retired Professor Emeritus of Purdue Universty, among other credits. He has written six scholarly works and edited over fifty, including “The Literature of Fantasy: a Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography […] Fred Patten One response April 28, 2013
  • The Originals   The Originals Author: Cat Patrick Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (May 7, 2013) Language: English ISBN-10: 0316219436 ISBN-13: 978-0316219433 Trust Cat Patrick to write something wild and crazy, told in the most normal of voices.  I first came into contact with her work when I read Revived and was completely blown away.  […] Gina Ruiz No responses March 28, 2013
  • Fred Patten Reviews Men Into Space Men Into Space Author: John C. Fredriksen Publisher: BearManor Media ISBN-10: 1-5939-3231-6 ISBN-13: 978-1-5939-3231-2 The 1950s were, practically speaking, the first decade of television. Popular “everybody knows” knowledge is that the first serious science fiction TV program was Rod Serling’s The Twilight Zone, from October 1959 to June 1964. Earlier TV science fiction programs like […] Fred Patten No responses February 4, 2013
  • Fred Patten reviews When Diplomacy Fails … When Diplomacy Fails … Author: Michael Z. Williamson Publisher: Baen Books ISBN-10: 1-4516-3790-X ISBN-13: 978-1-4516-3790-8 This is the seventh novel in Williamson’s Freehold interstellar action-adventure science-fiction series, which started with Freehold in 2003; or the third novel in his Ripple Creek Security subseries, which began with Better to Beg Forgiveness …. The series is set […] Fred Patten No responses October 27, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews Redshirts Redshirts Author: John Scalzi Publisher: Tom Dougherty Associates/Tor Books ISBN-10: 0-7653-1699-4 ISBN-13: 978-07653-1699-8 What used to be called “sacrificial lambs” or “cannon fodder” became institutionalized in s-f as the “redshirt” in the original Star Trek TV series of 1966-69. The Star Trek uniforms consisted of several colors. As the TV Tropes website puts it of […] Fred Patten No responses July 30, 2012
  • Shannon Muir Reviews Earth Unaware Earth Unaware Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston Publisher: Tor (a division of Macmillian) ISBN-10: 0765329042 ISBN-13: 978-0765329042 ASIN: B007IM0IIW   The backstory behind the classic, popular ENDER’S GAME series by Orson Scott Card is brought to life in this series of novels describing the two Formic Wars that make up the history leading up […] ShMuir No responses July 29, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews Judgment at Proteus Judgement at Proteus Author: Timothy Zahn Publisher: Tom Dougherty Associates/Tor Books ISBN-10: 0-7653-2213-7 ISBN-13: 978-07653-2213-5 “The climactic novel of the star-spanning Quadrail space opera!” (blurb) In the first four Quadrail novels (Night Train to Rigel, 2005; The Third Lynx, 2007; Odd Girl Out, 2008, and The Domino Pattern, 2010), galaxy-traveler-by-alien-superscientific-railroad hero Frank Compton (conveniently a […] Gina Ruiz No responses July 24, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews: A Confusion of Princes A Confusion of Princes Author: Garth Nix Publisher: HarperCollins/Harper ISBN-10: 0-06-009694-2 ISBN-13: 978-0-06-009694-6 This is Young Adult interstellar science-fiction, in the tradition of Robert A. Heinlein and Andre Norton, two classic YA s-f authors to whom this book is dedicated. I grew up devouring the YA s-f of Heinlein and Norton in my teens. How […] Fred Patten No responses July 18, 2012
  • Shannon Muir Reviews Existence   Existence Author: David Brin Publisher: Tor (part of Macmillan) ISBN-10: 0765303612 ISBN-13: 978-0765303615 ASIN: B0079XPMQS Gerald works salvaging what appears to be interstellar junk for unusual finds, and makes an unexpected discovery of an object that appears to be a communication device with alien races. Meanwhile, a poor Chinese man named Peng Xiang Bin […] ShMuir No responses July 7, 2012