• Phantasmagoria; Collected Essays on the Nature of Fantasy and Horror Literature Phantasmagoria; Collected Essays on the Nature of Fantasy and Horror Literature Author Roger C. Schlobin Publisher: CreateSpace ISBN-10: 1-4819-4608-0 ISBN-13: 978-1-4819-4608-7 Dr. Roger C. Schlobin is a retired Professor Emeritus of Purdue Universty, among other credits. He has written six scholarly works and edited over fifty, including “The Literature of Fantasy: a Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography […] Fred Patten One response April 28, 2013
  • The Cats of Tanglewood Forest The Cats of Tanglewood Forest Charles de Lint (Author), Charles Vess (Illustrator) Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Language: English ISBN-10: 0316053570 ISBN-13: 978-0316053570 The Cats of Tanglewood Forest is a fairytale that reads like those old epic stories that tell of someone seemingly ordinary, but who has an extraordinarily kind heart. In the […] Gina Ruiz No responses March 16, 2013
  • The Emperor of All Things Author: Paul Witcover Publisher: Random House UK, Transworld Publishers Bantam Press Book Description from the publisher: Tempus Rerum Imperator: Time, Emperor of All Things 1758. England is embroiled in a globe-spanning conflict that stretches from her North American colonies to Europe and beyond. Across the Channel, the French prepare for an invasion ? an invasion […] Gina Ruiz No responses March 14, 2013
  • Fred Patten Reviews: A Confusion of Princes A Confusion of Princes Author: Garth Nix Publisher: HarperCollins/Harper ISBN-10: 0-06-009694-2 ISBN-13: 978-0-06-009694-6 This is Young Adult interstellar science-fiction, in the tradition of Robert A. Heinlein and Andre Norton, two classic YA s-f authors to whom this book is dedicated. I grew up devouring the YA s-f of Heinlein and Norton in my teens. How […] Fred Patten No responses July 18, 2012
  • Lies Beneath Lies Beneath Author: Anne Greenwood Brown Publisher: Random House Children’s Books Imprint: Delacorte BFYR Pub Date: June 12, 2012 ISBN: 9780385742016 This isn’t your mother’s mermaid story. This isn’t a Disney story. This is a story of murder, betrayal and love. LIES BENEATH is dark and delicious. It is the story of Calder White, a […] Gina Ruiz 2 responses June 23, 2012
  • A Tale of Time City A Tale of Time City Author:  Diana Wynne Jones, Forward by Ursula K. Le Guin Publisher: Firebird; Reprint edition (April 12, 2012) Language: English ISBN-10: 0142420158 ISBN-13:978-0142420157 I have always been a big fan of Diana Wynne Jones, and have read most of her books. I was excited to read A TALE OF TIME CITY, […] Gina Ruiz No responses May 10, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists Author: Gideon Defoe Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC ISBN10: 1-4088-2495-7 ISBN13: 978-1-4088-2495-5 Let’s be frank:  this book would not be reviewed if it were not for the April 2012 release in America of the Aardman Animations stop-motion movie The Pirates! Band of Misfits. This is a retitling for Americans […] Fred Patten No responses May 3, 2012
  • Fred Patten Reviews Transmutation NOW! Transmutation NOW! Author: Phil Geusz Publisher:  Legion Publishing ISBN10:  none ISBN13:  978-0-9771867-6-1 This s-f novel was first written during 1997-1998.  It was almost immediately outdated by real-world technological advances.  Nevertheless, it has had several new editions including this latest (2012) by Legion Publishing, proving that technological obsolescence cannot keep a good s-f story down.  (How […] Fred Patten No responses April 23, 2012
  • The Last Princess   Title: The Last Princess Publisher: Hachette Book Group Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Pub Date: May 01, 2012 ISBN: 9780316185486 Set in post-apocalyptic England, THE LAST PRINCESS features a strong female protagonist, Eliza Tudor. In this alternate England, the world is struggling. The Seventeen Days, a series of natural disasters that rained […] Gina Ruiz No responses April 18, 2012
  • Bride of the Rat God Bride of the Rat God Author: Barbara Hambly Kindle Version: Publisher: Open Road (March 29, 2011) ASIN: B004TC146E Paperback version: Publisher: Del Rey (October 31, 1994) ISBN-10: 0345381017?I SBN-13: 978-0345381019   I should start off  by saying I’ve been a huge Barbara Hambly fan for years, so it’s no surprise that I wanted to review […] Gina Ruiz No responses April 8, 2012
  • Graceling                         Graceling Author: Kristen Cashore Publisher: Harcourt ISBN: ISBN 9780152063962 In a world of seven kingdoms where seven very different kings rule there are . A special people called the Graced. The Graced have eyes of different colors and their graces manifest in different […] Gina Ruiz No responses June 17, 2008
  • A Curse Dark as Gold                         A Curse Dark as Gold Author: Elizabeth C. Bunce Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books ISBN-10: 0439895766 ISBN-13: 978-0439895767 Do you love fairy tales? How about re-imagined ones? I do. I’ve always been fascinated by fairy tales and am always keenly interested when someone […] Gina Ruiz No responses April 27, 2008