The Chocolate War, I Am the Cheese and others will be available as eBooks on March 19, 2013

New York, NY (March 19, 2013)— Beverly Horowitz, VP & Publisher, Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers, announced today that Robert Cormier’s classic young adult novels will be released in eBook format for the first time. Horowitz believes that “for Robert Cormier there were no taboos. What mattered was the way that difficult topics were handled. These dynamic novels still speak to readers and are now more relevant and accessible than ever.” Cormier’s novels have delighted, challenged and generated discussion among readers for more than 30 years in print, and now they will be available to a new generation of readers as eBooks. The new editions will be available March 19th wherever eBooks are sold.

Random House will launch the program with twelve titles: Fade, Heroes, In the Middle of the Night, Tunes for Bears to Dance To, We All Fall Down, After the First Death, 8 Plus 1, Beyond the Chocolate War, The Bumblebee Flies Anyway, I Am the Cheese, The Chocolate War and Tenderness. Knopf Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, publishes Robert Cormier’s classic novels in hardcover, and the Ember and Laurel-Leaf imprints will continue to publish his trade paperback editions.

A tireless warrior in the crusade for realistic young adult fiction, Cormier not only changed the landscape of young adult literature but also pushed the boundaries of what could be discussed in the classroom. He was ahead of his time in dealing with issues of bullying and the importance of independent thought. “I take real people and put them in extraordinary situations,” he said in an interview with School Library Journal. “I’m very interested in intimidation. And the way people manipulate other people, [as well as] the obvious abuse of authority.”

In 1974, The Chocolate War, was published to instant critical praise and secured Cormier a perennial spot in the annals of classic teen fiction. The New York Times praised its “powerful integration of the personal, political and moral.”

Robert Cormier is the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring his lifetime contributions in writing for teens, for The Chocolate War, I Am the Cheese and After the First Death. He was born, and lived the entirety of his life, in Leominster, Massachusetts. As a freshman at Fitchburg State College, Cormier published his first short story, The Sign, in a national Catholic magazine. After a brief stint scripting radio commercials after college, Cormier went on to become an award-winning journalist and author. Despite his fame, he never stopped writing for his local newspaper, The Fitchburg Sentinel.

Alfred A. Knopf Books For Young Readers | March 19, 2013 | $7.99 | Ages 12 and up



The Chocolate War


I Am the Cheese


The Bumblebee

Flies Anyway


Beyond the

Chocolate War


8 Plus 1


After the First Death


We All Fall Down


Tunes for Bears

to Dance To


In the Middle

of the Night






Random House Books for Young Readers is an imprint of the Random House Children’s Books division of Random House, Inc., whose parent company is Bertelsmann. Visit us on the Web at

Get the latest updates and news from Random House Children’s Books!

Follow us on Twitter: @RandomHouseKids


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge